Structure

I am currently writing the concluding chapter of my thesis. This is not an easy task, since I’m not entirely sure how to structure it. Various online sources have helped, and I am applying this information to my conclusion.

My thesis structure currently looks like this:

Chapter 1 – Introduction

Chapter 2 – 1940s & 1950s. I deal with air pollution and the Great London smog, nature conservation and the founding of the Nature Conservancy in Britain, and early environmental television programmes.

Chapter 3 – early 1960s. This discusses the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), Silent Spring, and films, television programmes and literature. This is not an exhaustive list, and I am selective in what I discuss.

Chapter 4 – late 1960s. The Torrey Canyon oil spill of 1967, the battle over the reservoir at Cow Green and the founding of the Conservation Society all appear in this chapter.

Chapter 5 – 1970-1975. This concerns the first five years of the 1970s, when the environment had moved to the centre of British society.

Chapter 6 – Conclusion.

I think the biggest challenge now is consolidating everything analysed and evaluated in the individual chapters into one final concluding chapter.

Leave a Reply

